Previous Charles Dunn Award Winners

Previous Charles Dunn Award Winners

2015 Winners
Kim Misfeldt

Kim Misfeldt, University of Alberta-Augustana Campus

Kim Misfeldt is Professor of German and Chair of the Fine Arts and Humanities Department at the Augustana Campus, University of Alberta. She received her PhD in 2000 from Queen’s University. Kim’s literary research focuses on power relations and violence in the works of Heinrich von Kleist, Mariella Mehr and others. Her current research projects include student experience in study abroad and work on female perpetrators in contemporary German-language literature. She has published on Heinrich von Kleist, Mariella Mehr, second language pedagogy and study abroad. Recognized for excellence in teaching and dedication to her students, Kim was the recipient of the Augustana Distinguished Teaching Award in 2000 and the University of Alberta Rutherford Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching in 2011. In 2013 she received Canadian national recognition when she was named a 3M National Teaching Fellow. She is currently the director of the Canadian Summer School in Germany.


Margaret Letterman

Margaret Letterman, Eastern Connecticut State University

Margaret Letterman is Professor of Psychology at Eastern Connecticut State University. She received an undergraduate degree in Psychology from the University of Montana, a Master's degree from Fort Hays State University in Kansas, and a second master's and PhD at Oklahoma State University in Biological Psychology. Dr. Letterman’s research interests began with the physiological aspects of learning. After joining the faculty at Eastern, she became more interested in the teaching and retention of minority students. Dr. Letterman is currently collaborating with colleagues from the Economics Department at ECSU in research on minority students and higher education.